Sunday, 9 January 2011

Naming the moon

The first full moon after the winter solstice is the moon after yule.
Then comes the wolf moon
The lenten moon
The moon after the vernal equinox is the egg moon
Milk moon
Flower moon
The moon after summer solstice is the hay moon
Grain moon
Fruit moon
The moon after the autumn equinox is the harvest moon
Hunter's moon
The moon before yule

If a season has 4 full moons, the third is a blue moon

No comments:

Post a Comment